The Board of the Conference of Asian Pacific American Law Faculty (CAPALF) is collecting nominations for each of three CAPALF awards, which are list below. Click on each award to learn more.

Professor Keith Aoki Asian Pacific American Jurisprudence Award

Professor Chris Kando Iijima Teacher and Mentor Award

Professor Eric K. Yamamoto Emerging Scholar Award

Please consider nominating your colleagues for an award.  Nominations should be made in writing, in the form of a 1-2 page letter describing why the nominee should be considered for the award, with a copy of or citation to the work meriting the award, and with an accompanying CV of the nominee.  The deadline for submitting nominations is April 17, 2017.

The recipients of the awards will be notified by the end of April and they will be honored at this year’s joint CAPALF and Northeast People of Color (NEPOC) Conference, which will be held at Brooklyn Law School on June 2-3, 2017.

Please send your nominations for these awards via e-mail to:

Rebecca Lee
Associate Professor of Law
Thomas Jefferson School of Law

All educators are eligible for the Aoki and Iijima Awards, including those holding professorial rank, administrators, librarians, and clinical faculty or writing instructors regardless of title.  Early-career law professors (those with 10 years of experience or less) are eligible for the Yamamoto Award.  Educators from disciplines other than law are eligible for the Aoki Award.  No presently-serving member of the CAPALF Board is eligible.  Members of the current CAPALF Board are Nancy Chi Cantalupo (Barry), Christina Chong (USF), Jeremiah Ho (UMass-Dartmouth), Margaret Hu (Washington and Lee), Brant Lee (Akron), and Rebecca Lee (Thomas Jefferson).